olivia

meet olivia humphreys …

Olivia
I am self-described, relaxed Type-A who hails from the tiny town of Greencastle, Ind. There, I watched my parents and grandparents work hard to make a living at my family’s lawn mower and tractor business, which just celebrated 50 years this spring. Their dedication, passion, and competitive spirit was instilled in me from an early age.

I strived throughout high school to be better than anyone else, myself included, which is why I graduated valedictorian of my class. I attended Indiana University with the hopes of becoming a sports broadcaster, but quickly changed courses when I realized the lifestyle was not conducive to the plan I had for my life.

Thanks to some great classes at college, a lot of introspection and amazing volunteer opportunities at the Brown County Humane Society, I discovered that I wanted to pursue a career in nonprofit public relations.

After graduating in the spring of 2016 with a BA in Journalism-Public Relations, I began working at Centerstone in Bloomington as part of the Community Capacity for Prevention and Education Grant (CCPE), where I am currently the Outreach Coordinator. I work with 13-24 year-olds in Monroe County to prevent and reduce the onset of substance abuse and HIV by educating them via our social media (follow us on Facebook at CCPE Project!) and through evidence-based practices that teach assertiveness and how to transform disempowering behaviors into empowering behaviors.

I have a truly amazing job and absolutely love what I do. Plus, I don’t have to work crazy hours, which gives me time to spend with my family, boyfriend of almost three years, and my wonderful crazy cat, Hoo, who may or may not have her own Twitter account because she’s so photogenic (@HooTheCat for anyone who’s curious).

For now, I’m happy where I’m at in life and hope to be one of the pioneers in preventing substance abuse and HIV among teens. To see how I thrive every day, follow me on LinkedIn and Twitter @ohumphreys4!



what makes me thrive …

I thrive because I have a great work-life balance. I realized I needed a job that was 8-5 and allowed me to spend time doing the things I truly loved; like spending time with my friends, family and wonderfully lovable cat, Hoo. For me, relationships are the key to happiness, and I work hard to maintain them. I keep myself centered and grounded by eating (kind of) healthy, doing yoga and getting outside as much as possible. My career as an Outreach Coordinator for the CCPE grant allows me to give back to my community and is challenging, fun, exciting and difficult in all the right ways. My coworkers are great, my boss is excellent and I truly feel I am making a significant difference in the fight against substance abuse and HIV every day.

 

connect with olivia …

oliviahumphreys4@gmail.com

LinkedIn

Twitter: @ohumphreys4

 

 

 

Save

Save

TwitterLinkedInRedditStumbleUponPinterestGoogle+WordPressShare